A New Heaven and Earth

card_rick_small.gifWith gamers pricking up their ears over Halo, Microsoft looked to fully dazzle them as they continued the story in the second edition. Oh yes, and that little bit of spice they call Xbox Live.

You’ll have to forgive me but I can honestly say Halo didn’t do it for me. The Xbox was interesting, but before people across the world discovered Xbox Live it didn’t really draw attention from Sony’s consoles. No, Halo looked very nice and had a great story but I wanted more, the thrill of looking a real opponent in the eye, of judging my skill on a world stage, and of connecting to friends across the globe.

Ironically, when Halo 2 was released on my birthday I did not really give it much of a look. As I said, the original nevber really clicked with me, so I could not see the sequel doing it either. And Top Spin was keeping me busy when-ever the kids slept!

halo3.gifThankfully, some spare birthday money and a slow games month led to a compulsive Halo 2 purchase along with some beers and ice cream. I took it home and popped it in, expecting to be back on TopSpin with an hour. Surfice to say, Topspin didn’t get played that night and not for quite a while after.

So what was it about Halo 2 that took me away from tennis court heaven. As I have already alluded, it was the online play. From the off you could tell it was a product of breeding, which led to a rapidly growing Halo 2 community that I had never see before on such a global scale.

The robustness of lag free online play, seamless matches and ingenious ranking systems soon meant I was playing every night with my family and friends. And every so often we would clan-up and gird ourselves against screaming american teenagers, and win (sometimes).

Then there was the gameplay itself. Balanced weapons, amazingly designed maps and perfectly crafted game types. Graphically it stood head and shoulders above anything else out there, and its sound effects and voice-work were tight and crisp. I still get a shiver when I hear those monks singing the Halo 2 welcome. Everything went together just right.

Now we wait for Halo 3. No longer happy to limp on with poor 360 emulation support of Halo 2. So we are being fed by the bright light of the next-gen games, we flutter from game to game with one question only; will this game fill the void that Halo left empty.digg.gif The only answer can be to hold up and wait for 2007…lets go for a wii.

5 Responses to “A New Heaven and Earth”


  1. 1 headyly December 15, 2006 at 1:25 pm

    Man, I can’t wait till Halo3 hits. I wonder what the chances are of snagging a beta spot. Thanks for the thoughts.
    My top halo moments have been multiplayer one shot kill game in turf. Swee-eat!

  2. 2 AndyR January 3, 2007 at 7:11 am

    I wonder if the new maps for Halo 2 on the 360 will also sort out the slow loading and pre-game pause problems. This is enough to stop me getting a 360, well at least until Halo 3 is out!

  3. 3 games to play online for free October 22, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    nice post.. I think I’m addicted to halo, such a good game..

  4. 4 yosi October 17, 2011 at 10:20 am

    thanks you great game

  5. 5 Andreas March 30, 2013 at 4:52 am

    Hi there i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anywhere,
    when i read this paragraph i thought i could also make comment due to this good article.


Leave a Reply

