Life After Wii

card_andyr_small.gifThe day arrived, and I meandered into Game to collect the Wii. I was surprised to find a queue of people doing the same. When I collected my DS pre-order the store was empty. Shows how much Nintendo has risen in the UK populace psyches in the last couple of years.

I went for Wii-play, a nun-chuck and Zelda. All in it cost me £272.96, not the cheapest console I’ve brought.

I got it home and unpacked it. The package was top notch, real ‘ipod’ class. It really does seem like they have either hired the people apple use for their branding and packaging. With no reason to rush, the console was out of the box and hooked up in about 30 minutes.

wii.gifIt connected to my netgear wireless router with no problem, and performed some system updates. I only needed to turn to the manual when trying to ‘sync’ my second wii-mote, you need to press a button in the SD slot on the console as well as the button in the battery bay of the remote.

Using the Wii was even better than I had expected. The little buzz each time you hit a button and the audio plings singing from the remote really do make it feel like a new era of gaming.

Wii-sports lived up to the hype and I was quickly playing some tennis with my Jo. And true to form, I also managed to thwak Thom (1) who happened to be in the wrong place for a cross court smash! No broken windows or TV’s yet though!

Creating Mii’s provided more entertainment, and we now have the whole family running around the plaza!

With a create packaging and build quality, great elevator background music, and the awsome packed in wii-sports any fears I had are allayed. I just need for my freinds to get their now (and some proper online games)!

8 Responses to “Life After Wii”


  1. 1 fatpie42 December 8, 2006 at 3:43 pm

    £272.96? You were ripped off mate. I’m getting 3 games with my console for £269.99 from gamestation. (One of them could have been Wii Play, but I figured I wouldn’t be playing much multiplayer and the game hasn’t had great reviews.) So how much is a nunchuck? Add that to the 269.99 and that’s how much you could have paid for everything you got plus another game!

    Well, live and learn eh? On the plus side you have your console right now, and I am still enviously waiting in line for mine. Probably worth the extra money eh? Anyway, if you know anyone who hasn’t ordered yet, Gamestation’s offer is well worth taking advantage of…

    Happy Wii-ing!

  2. 2 Andy R December 9, 2006 at 1:03 pm

    The nunchuck was 17.99, so maybe it wasn’t such a bad deal. I trust you got yours OK by now. Happing wii-ing. :)

  3. 3 Gaming Chick December 10, 2006 at 11:24 am

    Heh heh, well done; helpful article. I largely agree with your work here.

    Wii Play is a good little title but it doesn’t carry alot of heavy play with it. Very much a social title to stick on in the arcady sense when ever you feel like a blast at it – after the initial spurt of unlocking stuff and gaining medals.

    Entertainmentwise (EW) has reviews Wii Sports, Wii Play and Zelda to date, as well as hosting up to date Wii and Nintendo news (DS included).

    Stop by y’all and check us out ;)

    http://www.entertainmentwise.com/review?id=25765

  4. 4 Fatpie42 December 14, 2006 at 1:17 am

    Yeah, have my Wii now.

    Anyone else get really irritated with the initial fishing section of Zelda? Sure it was fine once you knew what you were doing, but they could have done with giving a few more instructions. (I had to use an FAQ to get through that bit. Haven’t needed it since.)

    One of the reasons I thought the price you were paying was overly steep was because I didn’t see much point in the multiplayer aspect. As it is, suddenly (unlike with any other consoles I’ve ever had) EVERYONE wants to have a go!

    I still need a nunchuck for multiplayer on Rayman Raving Rabbids (so far I’ve only bought a second Wiimote). It is the most amazingly fun game ever. I absolutely LOVE it.

  5. 5 Rick December 27, 2006 at 8:29 pm

    Well thanks for the demo of your wii over Christmas Andy it was wicked and so accessable to everyone, even the girls love it!!
    The control system spooked me at first but I soon felt totally absorbed into the way it worked. It seems the’re’s so many skills to use the controller just right for each game, so much depth intantly for the control system, wicked.

    Wii bowling was my favourite, closely followed by boxing and golf…(the boxing is a good way of working off the Christmas dinner by the way)….

    Cheers A

  6. 6 AndyR January 3, 2007 at 7:19 am

    Wii 2 around the corner? http://www.mozlapunk.net/homepage/?p=1589 I personally doubt that anything will surface in the near future. I don’t think we will be seeing the next incarnation of the Wii system any time soon. Maybe after a year or two. It’s not as if the Wii design is like the phat DS!

  7. 7 AndyR January 3, 2007 at 7:05 am

    How to sync a second, third or even forth Wii Remote (wii-mote):
    1. Take the battery cover off the remote
    2. Locate the red button.
    3. Locate the red button on the Wii console, under the SD flap on the front.
    4. Press the red buttons at the same time.

    Note: The button under the SD flap is white on earlier Wiis.

  8. 8 unlocked wii December 27, 2013 at 7:09 pm

    Hi there, every time i used to check webpage posts here in the
    early hours in the daylight, because i enjoy to gain
    knowledge of more and more.


Leave a Reply

