Life Before Wii

clock.gifBetween the wish and the thing life lies waiting. How much of human life is lost in waiting?

I was worried about getting overkill in the run up to the UK launch, but my gamer-tank still seems to have enough fuel in it for a few more days.

My very own Wii-to-be is, this instant, sat in my local Game waiting to be collected on Friday. I even have a little time off work to go collect it.

If you checked my gamer card you would discover my age and appreciate my playing down of the whole collecting console on launch day. But basically I am as excited as a kid before Christmas.

My fears about the wii are:

  • It won’t get my friends and family playing.
  • The control will feel loose and spongy.
  • They won’t release Parasol Stars on the virtual console.

My hopes about the wii are:

  • That it will be graphically cleverer than the Gamecube.
  • That all my friends will get one too.
  • That my kids and wife will like it and spend hours sculpting their Mii’s.
  • That there will be many long evenings and late night game-experience sessions for all.

2 Responses to “Life Before Wii”


  1. 1 Dave Trager December 7, 2006 at 6:38 am

    Andy. My man. I have to give you some reassurance here. Answers in-line:

    My fears about the wii are:

    * It won’t get my friends and family playing. –Oh, it will.
    * The control will feel loose and spongy. — They aren’t Takes a little bit of getting used to, and it will most likely keep getting better thru firmware updates
    * They won’t release Parasol Stars on the virtual console. –haha you might be right about that one, but I hope they do too. Otherwise we may have to get a petition going.

    My hopes about the wii are:

    * That it will be graphically cleverer than the Gamecube. –It is. Its def no xbox or ps3 tho. ;)
    * That all my friends will get one too. –most likely
    * That my kids and wife will like it and spend hours sculpting their Mii’s. –They will love wii sports from the begining
    * That there will be many long evenings and late night game-experience sessions for all. –a definate

    Let me know how i did. ;)

  2. 2 Andy Robertson December 7, 2006 at 1:01 pm

    Thanks, only 1 day to go now. Parasol Stars would still be sweet though. Lets get started on the petition.


Leave a Reply

