Numbers Schmumbers

What a pleasant surprise it was when I first found out about Game People. A website with reviewers who actually focus on the actual experience of playing a game. In all of its joys, surprises, and controller throwing mania-there is really only one reason we all play games: for the experience of the game.

psu.gifI recently read a review in a popular video game magazine for a game on the PS2 and Xbox 360 – Phantasy Star Universe. For weeks I had been looking at the screen shots for the game, anxiously anticipating a new online universe to immerse myself in. Then, without warning, one of my favorite video game reviewers brought my world to its knees with a 6.0 out of 10.0 score. Despite my initial excitement, I was discouraged and almost chose not to play it. Thankfully, Game Fly didn’t have my first choice in my queue, and sent my second: Phantasy Star Universe – which turned out to be very entertaining, and an experience like no other.

Now don’t get me wrong, there isn’t anything cutting edge about it. There are no bells and whistles, and the music is comparative to tracks I remember from the Super Nintendo and Sega Genesis eras. But the imaginative art work, graphics, and character design, coupled with a simple gameplay brought me many hours of fun an excitement.

So, gamers of tomorrow, I will leave you with a question: As the “next gen” systems roll out, will we continue our time honored tradition of cutting edge imagination, creativity, fun, and excitement? Or will we sacrifice the experience of gaming for being overly critical of something that is only supposed to bring us a little fun and laughter?

If you’re looking for the experience, you are right where you should be. Consider yourself a Game Person.

3 Responses to “Numbers Schmumbers”


  1. 1 Andy R December 5, 2006 at 12:02 pm

    Intersting post Dave, I agree that I often miss out on a game that would be a great fit for me becuase of a low score.
    I think the EGM(Electronic Gaming Monthly)/GFW(Games for Windows) approach of having three reviewer scores for each game helps a bit.
    It seems that folk complain when reviews are published without numbers. This has been tried by EGM and Edge in the past, and was not well recieved. Perhaps we just need more engaging content to complement the scores.

  2. 2 Rick December 27, 2006 at 10:31 pm

    Thanks for the review Dave. I remember seeing the reviews for Fantasy Star online way back when game cube was my drug of choice. I was very tempted to buy it as there was not much else out there, but the reviews put me off. I think I bided my time and got The awesome Project Gotham Racing 2 with my new xbox instead. That game sure filled my multiplayer gaming hole big time. Glad this rendition of Fantasy Star is doing it for you…

  3. 3 weight loss xyngular May 19, 2014 at 9:50 pm

    Hi there, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar
    one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam responses?
    If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any assistance is very much appreciated.


Leave a Reply

